Home School

Parents may home school their own children pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated 49-6-3050 by registering with their local education agency (LEA), in this case Anderson County Schools.  Parents choosing this educational option must meet specified educational requirements, test the child and report attendance to the local education agency at the end of each semester.  By authority of the same statute, parents may also homeschool their own children by affiliating with and registering with a church-related school defined by Tennessee Code Annotated 49-50-801.  If a parent is exercising this educational option by home schooling a child who is in grade 9-12, they must also register with the LEA they would otherwise be attending. More information may be found on the State of Tennessee Department of Education's website by clicking here.

TCA 49-6-3050 defines responsibilities for independent home school parents as well as satellite and on-line home school parents. The comparison table below outlines several of those laws and clarifies the responsibilities of both parents and Anderson County Schools in order to ensure all parties are in full compliance with those laws. More information is available at www.state.tn.us/education/homeschool.

 

Requirement

Independent

(green form)

On-line
                Category III                **Accredited/Approved”   
(
blue form)

*See note below*

Church-Related Satellite 
 Category IV
 (yellow form)

Parent's Education

High School Diploma or GED; Anderson Co. Schools will maintain a copy on file

No requirement

No requirement

Registration

Notice of Intent to Home School must be given each year in the Office of Student Services at the above address.

It is the responsibility of the Category III school to notify the local school system when a student is enrolled from that district. Parents enrolling a student in a Category III school should ensure such notification occurs.

Principal of church-related school is responsible for notifying ACS of registered students.

Attendance

4 hours per day,  180 days per year; recorded and reported to ACS Director of Schools at the end of each semester

As required by on-line school’s guidelines

As required by satellite school’s guidelines

Curriculum

Parent choice; can include   on-line and satellite

Provided by on-line program

Parent teaches at home using satellite school’s curriculum and guidelines

Record Keeping and  Reporting

Completed attendance record sent to Director of Schools (above address) at the end of each semester

As required by on-line school’s guidelines

As required by satellite school’s guidelines

Enter or Re-Enter Public or       Approved Private School

K-8: Must be tested for grade placement

9 – 12: Must be tested in each subject for credit toward graduation

No placement test required

K-8: Must be tested for grade placement

9 – 12: Must be tested in each subject for credit toward graduation

Testing

In grades 5 and 7, same state board approved secure standardized tests required of public school students; see calendar for testing dates

In grade 9, same state board approved secure standardized tests required of public school students but NOT the high school proficiency test; see calendar for testing dates

As required by on-line school’s guidelines

Exempt from state testing requirements

  Location and Cost of Testing

In the local public school which the student would otherwise attend at no charge OR by a professional testing service at parent’s expense within 30 days of the statewide test date. Please notify the school principal of your intent to participate in school testing. Your notification ensures that necessary provisions are made for your child’s testing, including ordering the appropriate tests, providing seating, etc.

N/A

N/A

Test Sanctions

1 year or more below grade level for 2 years in a row, superintendent MAY require parents to enroll child in public or private school (unless child is learning disabled)

Determined by on-line school

Determined by overseeing church school

High School Diploma or  Certificate of  Attendance

None provided; Parent creates

 

Provided by on-line school

Provided by satellite school

*Per state law, if on-line school is not accredited/approved by one of the following agencies - AdvancED, Middle States Association of Colleges & Schools, New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Northwest Accreditation Commission, Western Association of Schools and Colleges, student must register with Anderson County Schools as an “Independent Home School” student and follow stated requirements. A list of approved non-public schools is available at www.state.tn.us/education/nonpublic/index.shtml.